What is Chakra?

he6I have been doing a lot of research lately on the healing and metaphysical properties of crystals. One word that I come across a lot is Chakra. Now I know most of us who are beginners in crystal lore and other metaphysical areas may have a vague idea of what a Chakra is but I wanted a little bit more in depth knowledge.

Here is the Merriam Webster Definition:
Definition of CHAKRA
Noun chak·ra \ˈchä-krə ˈshä-, ˈchə-\
any of several points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body according to yoga philosophy


Origin of CHAKRA
Sanskrit cakra, literally, wheel — more at wheel

I came across several different explanations in my research. Some vary slightly but most agree on the main points. This was the most basic and straight forward explanation that I found.

What is a CHAKRA?
A chakra — the Sanskrit word for “wheel” — represents a focus or concentration of energy in the body. There are seven different chakras, corresponding with seven locations in, on and around the body. Each of these Chakra centers governs a unique emotional and spiritual state.

CHAKRA History
The chakra system was first introduced in the eighth century as a way to understand the subtle body or energy body — as separate from a physical practice or system. Understanding that an energy center in balance is a connection of mind, body and spirit is at the forefront of many healing and faith traditions. While sources vary about the number of chakras, there are seven main chakras that many traditions recognize.
Here is a brief synopsis of the 7 main Chakras.


The root chakra, known as the Muladhara in sanskrit, helps you establish a life-nourishing bond with the natural world, while minimizing the de-humanizing elements of the often frantic undergrounded pace of modern life.

Location: Base of spine
Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
Color: Red
# of Petals: 4
Element: Earth
Mantra: Lam
Mind: intuition
Emotion: confidence
Spirit: survival


The sacral chakra, known as the Swadhisthana in sanskrit, helps awaken healthy, natural sensual desire while minimizing reliance on artificial substitutes for pleasure.

Location: abdomen
Sanskrit Name: Swadhisthana
Color: orange
# of Petals: 6
Element: Water
Mantra: Vam
Mind: creativity
Emotion: enthusiasm
Spirit: passion


The solar plexus chakra, known as the Manipura in sanskrit, helps invigorate healthy metabolism, while minimizing the stagnating effects of couch potato syndrome.

Location: midway between navel and base of sternum
Sanskrit Name: Manipura
Color: yellow
# of Petals: 10
Element: Fire
Mantra: Ram
Mind: personal power
Emotion: expansiveness
Spirit: growth


The heart chakra, known as the Anahata in sanskrit, helps activate your emotional center to foster energy circulation, the expression of love and a sense of empathy, while dispelling callousness and anger.

Location: center of the chest
Sanskrit Name: Anahata
Color: Green
# of Petals: 12
Element: Air
Mantra: Yam
Mind: passion/compassion
Emotion: love of self as well as others
Spirit: devotion


The throat chakra, known as the Vishuddha in sanskrit, inspires your communicative nature and fosters expression and a sense of calm clarity, while minimizing self-consciousness and timidity.

Location: throat/base of the neck
Sanskrit Name: Vishuddha
Color: blue
# of Petals: 16
Element: Sound (music)
Mantra: Ham
Mind: confidence
Emotion: independence
Spirit: sense of security


The third eye chakra, known as the Ajna in sanskrit, inspires your visionary process and fosters understanding, while minimizing the cloudiness of illusion and confusion.

Location: forehead/between the eyebrows
Sanskrit Name: Ajna
Color: indigo blue
# of Petals: 2
Element: light
Mantra: Om or Sham
Mind: visual consciousness
Emotion: clarity of intuition
Spirit: insight


The crown chakra, known as the Sahasrara in sanskrit, will inspire you to liberate your spirit and place it on the path to transcendence, while minimizing the influence of life’s roadblocks. Free yourself to reach your highest potential and state of being.

Location: top of head
Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
Color: violet/white or full spectrum (rainbow)
# of Petals: 1000+
Element: thought
Mantra: the dissipating silence after Om
Mind: free thought
Emotion: release
Spirit: set free


Latest posts by Sara Owens (see all)